World Building

I have been thinking a lot about the world for the novel I am working on. My sit down writing time is limited at the moment so, I am concentrating on the “thinking” part of writing. Each day brings the ordinary things that I go about my day doing into a new light where I contemplate how that would relate to my story. What type of jewelry would the characters wear? Where would it come from? How would it be made? What would it be called?

Spring has sprung and is just about done here and I wonder what type of plants will I include in this world? One of my favorite flowers is the Bleeding Heart and I have been imagining it in a new way that might be considered bizarre by some standards. I am trying to decide if one of my minor characters will have a conservatory where I can create all kinds of wonderful flowers that have more of a chance of actually getting into the story. A caveat with world building is that everything you create may not actually end up in the final draft, but you want a world that is rich for all of the senses. When you know the details of your world, it will spill over into the scenes that you create.

A few of the other things that have caught my attention throughout the day are dishes. What will they be made of? How will they be cleaned? Will they even need to be cleaned? What type of cleaning products will be used? What is considered private or how is privacy viewed?

I am not a reader that enjoys stories with a poetry feel to them. This is especially true of modern stories. So, when I write, I am not going to have a flowery language but I am going to be very visceral with my descriptions. This has been a bit of a sticking point for me with some writing professors or critique groups. It is not that I have a problem with this type of writing; it is that I do not enjoy reading it so why on earth would I want to write in that style.

My world is exactly that, MY world. At this point, I can consider anything. When it comes time to publish, and I have an editor or agent that wants to get rid of something because it is too far outside of the norm for the genre, then I will consider it. If it is something that is very important to the story for me, I will have to consider going somewhere else with the story if they are not willing to budge. There may points that I would be willing to change if asked, however, that is something that is considered in the final draft stage of things or to sell or not to sell point.

Leave a Reply

