Outlining . . . Again

I am returning to the topic of outlining because that is what I am going to focus on this week. When I began the novel, I was working off a very vague idea and just seeing where the story took me. At some point, I found my last paragraph for the novel but I still didn’t know how I was going to get to that point, so I kept writing.

Writing kept the words flowing and a subplot developed. I am at a point in the novel that if I do not flesh out my outline, it is liable to run away from me and that often leads to me cutting scenes that I have fallen in love with but they have to go because they lead no where. It is okay to let your outline change and grow, but it ultimately has to move the story forward toward an end, even if that end is different than what you thought it would be.

So, I am off to see how this outline will grow and what plot points emerge that I had not previously seen.

Leave a Reply

