Starting Over

I have a novel that is already in progress but I have reached a point where some of the background needs to be worked out in order to move forward. I have heard of several authors that have scrapped (not gone but no longer being edited) a novel and started the writing over at the beginning. I am not going to “scrap” what I have, but I am going to look at the novel in more of a 3D view to fill things out and make the world that my characters live in to feel real.

This has been a sticking point for me because I did not want to start over. Well, the time I have wasted on NOT starting over probably amounts to the same time it would have taken to begin again at least twice.

So, I am going to bring you along on this journey of discovery, and hopefully, accomplishment by finishing this novel and marketing it.

I have gathered all of the various files, picked up a new piece of software that will help me “see” some things that I used to make sketches of, and I am plugging them into the various places so that I can finally start again.

One thought on “Starting Over

  1. I’m one of those writers who doesn’t plan, so I often find myself getting several thousand, or even tens of thousands, of words into a project and then realising it’s not working and I have to start again. It’s painful, but not as painful as trying to continue writing something that you know isn’t working. Good luck :)

Leave a Reply

